Author Topic: 27 Year Old Engineer. Desire retire by 40 - Where to put $$ and what order?  (Read 18522 times)

GumbyPickles

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
So, recently I decided that I would like to retire by age 40, and found this website/forum during my investigation. I specified I'm an Engineer ME since I've seen so many other engineers on here and I believe even read a blog post about it, funny how a mind-set can attract a certain profession.    I can't believe how popular this blog's specific forum is - that's amazing. 

Financially, I've been battling the last year paying down all my debts (Car loan paid off, student loans paid off -  aside from low interest $2k)  Anyway, I'm sure these get posted way too often, but I figured it was worth a chance and I appreciate any feedback to help me reach my goals. 

I'm trying to determine Where should I put my money, and in what order? 

Income: $83,000 Gross, +$2,500 bonus placed into HSA Account
(Monthly net approximately $4,500 after taxes/401k)

Current Monthly Expenses:
Rent: $625 (Split $1,200/mo with roommate)
Utilities: $200
Auto Ins/Gas: $200
Alcohol/Bars: $200
Restaurants: $150
Fast Food: $100
Groceries: $100
Other $100
Student Loans $30  (2.05% Interest Rate)
TOTAL: ~$1,705 Monthly, or 38% of Take-Home

Assets:

Savings Acct: $35,000 (For house down payment, 0.9% APY)
401k Account: $30,000 (2050 Fund)
HSA Account: $4,000 (Vanguard Funds for $2k, $2k FDIC Insured)
Checking Acct: $13,000 (Emergency/Cash Fund)

Where do I go from here?  We're quickly approaching the end of the year and I've only saved 5% monthly toward the 401k, which employer matches.  That will total to $8,000 approximately.   

My current thoughts:

1) Contribute max to HSA

2) Contribute max to Traditional IRA this year ($5,500)

3) Nov 1st increase my 401k contributions to 15% of income, which will put me right near the $17,500 max for next year and up this year's payments to ~$10,000.