Author Topic: 26 years old, starting out...What would you do if you were me!?  (Read 6582 times)

ShawnRulesAll

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
26 years old, starting out...What would you do if you were me!?
« on: October 09, 2012, 11:27:12 AM »
Hey guys, long time lurker.

I'm a 26 year old student living at home with parents. I am way behind (relatively) in life and am looking for a good path to retire early and grow my mustache. I live in Cheyenne, WY(population ~50k) about 90 minutes/miles north of Denver CO. I am studying Business Information/IT at my local community college. I am looking for advice(dont hold back) on what you would do and how I can obtain the best path towards early retirement. I am very interested in rental homes and hope to buy a duplex(once i get income and bank approval) and live with my GF and rent out the other half to cover mortgage, then I will repeat 5x. here are some stats:
parents live out of town about 2.5 miles.
8 miles from local community college
6.5 miles from new job starting today at Kohls-min wage :( but its a job
8.5 miles from Girlfriends house that I see almost daily
2001 GMC sonoma gas waster (maybe 120-160$month gas)
$1000 in checking account
$1200 in bonds at bank
$1100 in mutual fund retirement from old job

Currently I'm applying at hospital for IT job, I might have a chance and I have family that works there that hopefully might get me a shot there. What path/route would you take if you were me? What would you do? What should I start doing?
Help me out mustachians! You're my only hope!

ShawnRulesAll

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: 26 years old, starting out...What would you do if you were me!?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 11:27:43 AM »
Don't hold back, I have thick skin. and I will be transparent. and I want to update progress.
Job at Kohls is part-time and possibly just seasonal. 
about 2 years before I get my bachelors, I am considering getting assosciates in IT though and just doing that.