Author Topic: 26 Year Old Business Assistant/bad habits and student debt  (Read 4635 times)

DreamNGO

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
26 Year Old Business Assistant/bad habits and student debt
« on: October 27, 2014, 02:57:54 PM »
Hey Everyone,

I am new to the Mustachian lifestyle and I enjoy reading the posts on this blog. I would like to make better decisions with my money to become financially free.

Here is my profile

Income: Monthly $2,200
ME: Biweekly After Tax, Tax Sheltered Pension (Current Value $20,466.71), 403B (Current Value $1,508.94), Health, Dental, 1100.00
Credit Score 640
Single no spouse, no kids

Current Expenses Monthly

Cell Phone T-mobile $89 still paying off the HTC one phone payments
Internet Comcast $62
Electric Bill $93 a month based on last year’s total bill of $1,123.75
Rent 1bdr Apartment $565
Student Loans
Chase 19,000 Monthly payment of $200 at a rate of 8.75
Fed Loans 37,000 6.8% Percent Payment of 335 per Month
Total Loan Debt = $52,000
Car Insurance $75
Contribution to my Mutual Funds $50
Fixed Expenses are $1469.00

Variable Budgeted Expenses
Groceries = $110 (I don’t buy juice, candy or snacks. I try to buy things that I can cook and will last me the several days out of the week. Soups, peas, roasts, stews etc. Never buy lunch or fast food)
Gas = $80 per month I commute 1.7 miles back and forth to the train station that takes me to work 5 days a week.
Train Commute = $105 (($1*25) + (3.20*25)) $1 per day to park, the free lot fills up at 8:05am $3.20 roundtrip per day.
Entertainment Allowance = $125 I don’t spend this much on drinks but I do have the bad habits of going out with my friends, buying bar food and those expensive drinks at the club. I know this is the first thing that needs to be eliminated.
Laundry = $30 a month
Variable Monthly = $450

Total Monthly Payments = $1919.00