Author Topic: 25yo tax accountant thinking of leaving public. would appreciate career advice  (Read 10952 times)

Cheddar Bob

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm about to wrap up my second year at a Big 4 firm as a tax accountant.  I currently make about $65k and should make a little north of $70k when raises kick in in September.  I have a Master's in Accounting and I got my CPA last fall.  The experience at this Big 4 so far has been good.  I lucked out by being in a group that does not have busy seasons.  My group does work unrelated to compliance deadlines and thus how busy you are is dependent on the project.  I don't think I've ever worked over 60 hours in a week and I'd say that at least 80% of my work weeks have been less than 45 hours.  I feel really lucky that I've made it 2 years with this schedule when almost all other people in tax have to work consistent 60+ hours during busy seasons.

However, I have reasons to believe that all of this is unsustainable. Firstly, my group travels a decent amount.  I have been lucky that my projects have not required nearly as much travel as other people's projects.  There is one person I know who has traveled probably 90% of weeks since I was hired, and this travel was often halfway across the country.  I've enjoyed the travel I've done but I'm not sure if I would like having to travel so far on a week to week basis.

Secondly, as I move up the ranks, there will be an expectation of working more hours.  The Big 4 is notorious for grinding people and I just don't think that's something I want to do.  It isn't so much that I value work-life balance, but rather I value my pay-per-hour.  Sure, if I stick around for a few more years I could be making $100k but it would be while working 50-60 hours.  As I think about it more and more, I think I would rather work a consistent 40 hours job and then try to make some extra money on the side somehow.  But I just don't know how realistic it is to find 40 hour jobs in accounting.