Author Topic: 25, Want to be like you guys, but not sure what else to do  (Read 19369 times)

Jamesqf

• Magnum Stache
Re: 25, Want to be like you guys, but not sure what else to do
« Reply #50 on: July 19, 2012, 06:07:25 PM »
I'm not a tax expert, but I think you can go back a couple of years and file amended tax returns.  You'd have to do the numbers for your own situation, but it might give you enough of a refund to be worth the effort.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #51 on: July 19, 2012, 07:31:26 PM »
I'm super impressed with how you're handling things head-on.

Agreed!
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

SpendyMcSpend

• Bristles
« Reply #52 on: July 19, 2012, 07:52:49 PM »
Don't you need to have a dependent to file head of household?  Your mom may have already claimed her daughter as her own dependent. 

Anyway, I might also suggest seeing a counselor for all this family stuff.  It sounds like there are some boundaries issues with the extended family as well as your own immediate family.  Like others have said, it's your choice to support your mom and sister long-term but it's not the only option.

englyn

• Bristles
« Reply #53 on: July 19, 2012, 11:42:02 PM »
Anyway, I might also suggest seeing a counselor for all this family stuff.