Author Topic: 20 with 20k to 30/35 FIRE?  (Read 1452 times)

Valerian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
20 with 20k to 30/35 FIRE?
« on: June 09, 2016, 10:58:41 AM »
Found this forum a few days ago, been lurking since, signed up this morning and I'm looking for advice from all of you.

I'm a 20-year-old Canadian Male living in Toronto, pretty well for free, with family. I graduated High School but haven't pursued post-secondary education. I've been working some generic retail-y jobs for the last few years, not really saving much of anything, but for the past few months I have been working a job I landed through my Aunt (who is CFO at an 8-person Hedge Fund) to replace their outgoing manager of operations. I've picked it up pretty well and I'm making $2350/mo after taxes, about $2000/mo after I've deducted transit and grocery contributions at home. Not bad, certainly considering I'm radically under-qualified and my job before this was a seasonal department store  position making minimum wage. The job, if I were to keep it, would see paid course-taking and training to become more qualified, coupled with wage increases up to making $120,000+/year within 8 or so years. It's an office job, it's not something I really enjoy, and I really don't enjoy living in the city very much.

I have a 26-year old fiancee whose house burned down 3 weeks ago and who received no insurance money for the contents (house rent-to-own through her parents who paid the mortgage) but about $6000 CAD in equity paid out. She has moved back in with her parents right now, is in the process of liquidating her small home business (animal breeding) which should net us $6000-13000 CAD and I have $4000 in savings right now. So right now, we have about $10,000 CAD in savings between us, and if, say, we made whatever move we want to make in our life in about 3 months, we would have:

10,000 savings + 6000 animal business + 6000 my wages + 2000 her wages, give or take = 24,000 CAD