Author Topic: 18yo Looking For Advice  (Read 2438 times)

Keen12321

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
18yo Looking For Advice
« on: November 08, 2018, 01:31:26 AM »
My name is Austin, I've been following the MMM idea for a few years now and I've just finally been able to actually commit to it. My dream is to retire before 45. I'm fortunate enough to make a starting salary over $50,000. I have no debt and have virtually no expenses living with my parents. Should I max out my 401k and RothIRA before I put money into a taxable account or would it be my best interest to just use a taxable account and skip the penalty. I'm new to this and I know there is a way to withdraw without taking a penalty but I from what I understood you would have to initially have the money to hold you over for 5 years. If there's any other advice you can give me it would sincerely be appreciated.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2018, 01:34:58 AM by Keen12321 »

Classical_Liberal

• Handlebar Stache
Re: 18yo Looking For Advice
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2018, 01:39:38 AM »
Check this out as a starting point.

PS you could easily retire by 30 at original MMM spending levels, 25-30K for two people (12-15K for one).  This forum has morphed into a high income/slightly less ridiculous spend place.  If you haven't picked up the bad habits yet, you don't need to.  It's all priorities.   

Trifle

• Walrus Stache
    • In The Garden
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2018, 04:35:23 AM »
Hi Austin

Congrats for getting off to a great start!  Read the investment order link that Classical Liberal sent.  At your age you should be following that order; don't worry about 401k withdrawal penalties.  There are ways around them. 

And X2 on KEEP YOUR EXPENSES LOW.  If you can avoid lifestyle creep and tempting toys/cars/trucks-- you will be set.  You're at a sweet spot right now -- save like your life depends on it.

:) 

Classical_Liberal

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2018, 06:36:30 PM »