Author Topic: $170,000 Student Loan Disaster  (Read 18190 times)

ew_513

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
$170,000 Student Loan Disaster
« on: March 06, 2017, 02:14:40 PM »
Hi All,

I'm new to the forum and new to the Money Mustache blog, but I'm really motivated to learn and get my finances in order.

I could use some advice with my student loan situation. I have to admit I'm really embarrassed to be posting this, because my loans are huge source of regret. I graduated with an MFA in 2012 and $148,795 in student loans from NYU. I struggled to find a well paying job from 2012-2015. I now have a job making $42,000-ish after taxes. I occasionally get freelance writing gigs and have used that money to completely pay off other debts/save.

My loans are both federal loans and I have been enrolled in the IBR program since I graduated in 2012. I always assumed I would just pay my monthly bill and in 25 years it would be forgiven. Again, embarrassed to admit this, I just realized two things - 1. My monthly IBR payment is dramatically less than the amount of accruing interest, so the loan is quickly ballooning and 2. I just realized this year the forgiven amount will be taxable.

I feel doomed. Because the monthly interest is so high, I think I'd have to pay $1500 or more month to even make a dent. And I'd have to pay that amount monthly for the next few decades.

I don't know how I can save/invest and also payoff my student loans. I'm wondering if my only option is to stick with IBR and hope they change the tax rule in the next 20 years?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

rubybeth

• Handlebar Stache
Re: $170,000 Student Loan Disaster
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 02:36:17 PM »