Author Topic: $100K - Invest or Save?  (Read 6120 times)

ascZend

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
$100K - Invest or Save?
« on: June 01, 2014, 02:47:19 PM »
I'm 26, no kids, with a stable full-time job in addition to currently being a full-time student (although this will likely change to part-time status for the foreseeable future after Spring quarter ends in a few weeks).  I receive monthly compensation from the V.A. for service-connected disabilities and educational benefits.  I have been working for my current employer since March 2013, and my goal is to (hopefully) continue working through 2019.  Beginning around 2020, I would like to purchase a home and consider starting a family with my girlfriend, whom I plan on proposing to later this year.  I am currently on pace to maximize my 2014 Roth IRA and my 401(k), which I aim to do every year that I am working.  Since March, I have been saving and investing (into tax-advantaged retirement accounts) around 75-80% or more of my gross income each month.

My dilemma is this:  I have about $103,000 in a high-yield savings account, of which I would like to invest $100K and keep the remaining $3K as an emergency fund, but I'm not sure if that's the wisest course considering I plan on using this money to purchase a home in about 5.5 years or so.  The general consensus from what I have read is that money which might be needed within 5 years should not be invested.  Given that I don't anticipate needing this money until just a bit beyond that, should I consider investing it, or stick with something safer like CD's or high-yield savings/money market accounts? 

I'd appreciate any suggestions or advice.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2014, 02:57:43 PM by ascZend »

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
Re: $100K - Invest or Save?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2014, 04:28:21 PM »