Author Topic: Wow - This journalist thinks her husband is frugal (posted another by her)  (Read 11730 times)

SpendyMcSpend

• Bristles
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10000872396390444165804578008431687327750.html?KEYWORDS=DEMETRIA+GALLEGOS

They have at least two kids, one of which is 15 and they only have $9,000 saved for his college.  They have two homes, one in Colorado (the rent it out) and they go there on vacations. They want to "float" the property tax payment till April and they don't have $10k in an emergency fund. 
« Last Edit: January 03, 2013, 10:32:22 AM by Meadow »

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Wow - This journalist thinks her husband is frugal
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2012, 06:51:05 PM »
He sounds like he has the right mindset, but got tired of arguing with her, and lets her be as consumeristic as she wants for the sake of marital harmony.  I feel bad for him.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

luna

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2012, 08:30:46 PM »
I don't think that they'll ever have that emergency fund.

I feel sad for him too.

Jamesqf

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2012, 10:37:24 PM »
I don't think he's all that frugal.  He still uses a coin-operated dryer rather than a clothesline :-)

mustachecat

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2012, 07:01:54 AM »
Another vote for sadness. :(

I feel terrible for this guy. He's being so, so, so reasonable, but yes, he's also clearly given up. I'm sure he'd rather focus on meeting their big goals, but it sounds like all that he can control is wearing holey socks and buying produce that's "way too ripe."

lauren_knows

• Pencil Stache