Author Topic: Why are business majors likely to be financial trainwrecks?  (Read 26483 times)

cheapass

• Pencil Stache
  • On track for FIRE @ 40
Why are business majors likely to be financial trainwrecks?
« on: August 02, 2016, 02:52:57 PM »
I've noticed the phenomenon that there are a lot of people highly educated in business (CPA's, MBA's, etc.) who blow through money and structure their household finances to the point where any unexpected cost is an absolute emergency. The part that is so mind boggling is that of all people, they are the ones who understand finance, economics, opportunity cost, compound growth, and how money works. They sat in the same finance classes I did (I'm an engineer undergrad and finished an MBA last year).

Why in the fuck are they not realizing that they don't have to be cogs in a corporate wheel their entire lives if they just show a little restraint when it comes to spending? The math isn't hard!
« Last Edit: August 03, 2016, 09:59:09 AM by cheapass »

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Re: Why are business majors likely to be financial trainwrecks?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2016, 02:57:25 PM »
Personal finance isn't what is taught in business school.  Sure it is easy to see how a lot of the concepts overlap, but a lot of people, in my experience, lack the ability to think abstractly.

SeaEhm

• Bristles
  • The Guilt is Real
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2016, 03:00:00 PM »
Math is a science
People are emotional
Spending for some is closer to a science while spending for others is closer to emotional

marty998

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2016, 03:04:46 PM »
The guys at the top of business are used to abundance, or they are conditioned to believing the good times will never end (hit with an eternal optimism gun?)

There's also the "spend money to make money" mentality...

cube.37

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2016, 03:05:44 PM »