Author Topic: The Delusion of Young Lawyers  (Read 28456 times)

anonlawyer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
The Delusion of Young Lawyers
« on: September 24, 2012, 10:40:26 PM »
As a lawyer myself, I often read forums that deal with attorney life.  Here is a gem of a thread I thought you'd appreciate:

http://autoadmit.com/thread.php?thread_id=2061031&mc=62&forum_id=2#21650722

It shows the absolute delusional mindset of today's big firm associates.  A lot of my friends are like some of the clueless posters. 

sol

• Walrus Stache
Re: The Delusion of Young Lawyers
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2012, 11:13:04 PM »
A choice excerpt:

Date: September 24th, 2012 9:10 PM
Author: .,.,....,.,..,.,:,,:,...,:::,....,,:,.,.:...,:.::

That's about $300k take home annually

You'll want to put $100k in savings each year to have any chance of a good retirement

$100k on mortgage, property tax, maintenance, landscaping, cleaning for a $1.5M house. You won't have a palace for that in any high col area, just a decent 5000sqft+ place

$50k on two decent $100kish cars. $25k if you want to drive low-end luxury vehicles

That leaves $50k for all other expenses: food, clothing, insurance, vacations, private school for the kids. It's barely enough without kids, and not nearly enough with kids

$500k isn't enough to live large

Saving mom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2012, 05:28:09 AM »
I worked with people that think along these lines. Talk about how it's so hard to save and in my head I am screaming "it's easy if you don't buy the estate with a tennis court in the best school district and yet still send your kids to private school". I have friends who are spending about $45K per year just on private school tuition and they don't live in New York or similarly high COL areas.

Irishmam

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2012, 05:57:06 AM »