Author Topic: The Billfold's rebuttal to the MMM Post article: "Not All of Us Are Wasteful"  (Read 32647 times)

MrsPete

• Magnum Stache
The truth is somewhere in the middle . . .

Yes, unless you are Warren Buffet or Michael Jordan and have more money than you and your children could ever spend in two lifetimes, frugality WILL HELP you get ahead.  Whether your personal goals include retiring early, putting your kids through college, or whatever . . . being conscious of your spending and putting money away each and every month WILL HELP.  To say otherwise is to see yourself as a victim. 

However, the Billfold guy's not entirely wrong when he says that people can make all the right decisions and still find themselves in trouble.  I'm a teacher, and let me tell you what's happened to every teacher in my state over the last few years:

- We used to automatically get 2% more each year (that was the deal for which we signed on:  You'll never make a big paycheck, but it'll be secure and you'll have a moderate pension at retirement), but for four years our pay was frozen.  That's 8% I anticipated -- 8% I'll never get back.  This affects my paycheck every month, and it will eventually affect my pension. 
- While our pay was frozen, our health insurance increased -- every year.  So every year for the last four years, I made progressively less money.   
- The county /state removed some nice bonuses we used to get for meeting state testing scores.  No, I don't teach well when a bonus is on the line and say, "Screw it" when there's nothing extra for me, but the state never once intimated that bonuses were based upon whether they had pots of money lying about. 
- This year we were given a 1.2% increase . . . coupled with the biggest health insurance increase yet.
- Alhough it wasn't the fault of the school board, the Social Security "re-set" was another kick in the teeth.