Author Topic: Stretch those car payments!  (Read 5514 times)

Gerard

• Handlebar Stache
    • Optimacheap
Stretch those car payments!
« on: July 23, 2012, 04:27:12 PM »
Apparently if you can't afford to pay for a car with six years of financing, you should go for eight years of financing! It's like the anti-mustachian trifecta.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/economy/debt-burdened-canadians-succumb-to-lure-of-long-term-car-loans/article4434786/

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Stretch those car payments!
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 05:28:41 PM »
Probably the only reason we don't have 30 year loans on the is that it may outlast the car itself!  ;)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

James

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2012, 06:29:29 PM »
The extra sad thing is that they are under water at the 4-6 years when they go to get a new car, so they just roll the difference into the next vehicle.  this creates larger and larger car loans for vehicles further and further under water, meaning they can't get out of the car loan by selling it without putting in many thousands of cash.  They won't do that, so the dealers have them hooked for many many years.

menorman

• Stubble
    • Marven's Money Musings
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2012, 08:08:28 PM »
Probably the only reason we don't have 30 year loans on the is that it may outlast the car itself!  ;)
Nah, car is likely fine if it gets taken care of, even for someone who drives a lot. However, the advance in tech between cars from 30 years ago and now is much more pronounced (at least IMO) than the advance in house tech.

follicular

• 5 O'Clock Shadow