Author Topic: Sleazy, Stupid Advertising!  (Read 6861 times)

abliviax

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Sleazy, Stupid Advertising!
« on: June 05, 2013, 05:21:15 PM »
I've seen some really rotten advertising.  I'll just start with a few awful recent examples.

"Your house is not a home until it has Xfinity" - Comcast

Wow.  Never owned a TV, and very glad.  This is so wrong on a couple of levels ...

[Local Autoshop:] Spend freely on your most improtant investment: you car.  (Mis-spelling is real).

Uh yeah.

Any marketers in the MMM crowd?

PGH

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Sleazy, Stupid Advertising!
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2013, 05:37:19 PM »
Oh yes. I'm a marketer by trade (for the last, oh, 25 years or so), but an anti-consumerist by habit. Trust me, the discordance is getting worse by the day!

Truly, that's one of the worst examples of local marketing I've seen. Is there not a single person at that business who knows how to spell?

abliviax

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2013, 06:01:00 PM »
Sorry PGH.  I love to hate on you guys :) 

Would love to hear some others.

Bakari

• Handlebar Stache
  • Veggie Powered Handyman
    • The Flamboyant Introvert
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2013, 09:52:55 PM »
I initially shared these here on the forum, before deciding to make it its own blog post (which includes pictures):

http://biodieselhauling.blogspot.com/2012/09/advertisements-that-only-work-due-to.html

MgoSam

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2013, 05:48:38 AM »
To be fair to the automechanics, they didn't necessarily need to go to high school or college, but instead a trade school. So while their spelling isn't acceptable, their work may be.

exranger06

• Stubble
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2013, 08:56:19 AM »
The worst one I've seen recently was one of those "Truth" (anti-smoking) commercials. The one where....well, instead of trying to explain it, I'll just link to it. It's this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jcyBkylYnqU