Author Topic: SELL EVERYTHING!  (Read 7165 times)

YoungGranny

• Pencil Stache
SELL EVERYTHING!
« on: January 12, 2016, 09:58:32 AM »
I'm no expert but I thought the buy and hold strategy was the one most recommended. Seems like CNN is fine with causing wide-spread panic:
http://money.cnn.com/2016/01/12/investing/markets-sell-everything-cataclysmic-year-rbs/index.html

slugline

• Handlebar Stache
Re: SELL EVERYTHING!
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2016, 10:19:01 AM »
We'll conveniently ignore the fact that if a large enough group of people actually take this advice, that will be the crash. . . .

AH013

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2016, 10:31:37 AM »
Of course you should sell everything.  Morgan Stanley & RBS want you to keep all the wealth you've accumulated.  That is why they're selflessly standing by, ready to create a market to buy your stocks now that they're down 8% from where they closed at the end of last year.  These firms are following in the footsteps of the great & noble John Pierpont Morgan himself.  You should take this slight discount and sell your stocks before they go down any further.

MS & RBS have nothing to gain from this....honestly....pay no attention to that man behind the curtain.

teadirt

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2016, 10:36:10 AM »
This will be my first year with enough positive NW to invest. I say, panic away! In the meantime, I'll be buying up all the cheap stocks.

YoungGranny

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2016, 11:01:48 AM »
Exactly.... I just front-loaded my Roth IRA for the year last week and have no regrets :) - I do feel bad for the people who listen to this crap though.

Hunny156

• Bristles
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2016, 11:24:25 AM »