Author Topic: Sad stories of high student loans, share yours.  (Read 29603 times)

greenmimama

• Pencil Stache
Sad stories of high student loans, share yours.
« on: November 14, 2014, 09:16:51 AM »
We have some friends who their combined total of student loans is 300k, Lawyer and social worker

That to me is so sad.

What are some crazy ones you have come in contact with?

frugalnacho

• Walrus Stache
Re: Sad stories of high student loans, share yours.
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2014, 09:31:06 AM »
My sister has about 80k I think (not positive), and my parents cosigned for most them.  She ran into trouble with the law and is no longer allowed to legally be employed as a nurse (convicted felon), but still has all the loans.

I graduated with about 11k, and paid them off within about a year (not a sad story).

Louisville

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2014, 09:37:09 AM »
I got an associate's degree in computer science that I paid for with my wages as I went. Now I make 6 figures. The sad part? Tech companies all over America still have to recruit from overseas to find qualified people to do my job. Why doesn't everyone in America do what I did?

pzxc

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2014, 09:41:18 AM »
I had one student loan a decade ago for $8k.  The current balance is just under $2500, so yes I'm still paying for college from ten years ago (that I didn't graduate from)

MrBuckBeard

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2014, 09:47:32 AM »
I got an associate's degree in computer science that I paid for with my wages as I went. Now I make 6 figures. The sad part? Tech companies all over America still have to recruit from overseas to find qualified people to do my job. Why doesn't everyone in America do what I did?