Author Topic: PW article  (Read 18866 times)

phillystash

PW article
« on: January 22, 2015, 03:10:14 PM »

slugline

• Handlebar Stache
Re: PW article
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2015, 03:38:41 PM »
In my opinion, there are way more people that claim to be middle-class than are actually middle-class.

Using a cafe barista as an example -- really????

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2015, 04:09:59 PM »
It's crazy that she was living with nearly nothing, built herself up, but just kept expanding her lifestyle.  Presumably she'd have continued to do that even as she earned more.

You'd think you'd learn to put some away, and not expand past what you can afford.  She was clearly spending more than she made, for example, if she can't pay her bills.

And that means she was likely getting hit with late fees, etc.

What a shame.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

austin

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2015, 06:14:12 PM »
A lot of Americans are delusional when it comes to class issues. Just as there are plenty of temporarily embarrassed millionaires there are tons of working class people who think they are middle class. (Same with upper class people)

gimp

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2015, 06:35:46 PM »
I go by the simplest definition - the middle 60%. Or if you want to get fancy, a decent approximation of that is everyone within one standard deviation of the median. (Approximation, not ==).

However, I think people in the middle 90%, even 95%, consider themselves middle class.