Author Topic: Overheard at Work  (Read 13253036 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Overheard at Work
« Reply #5050 on: October 30, 2014, 05:06:20 PM »
For someone like that you should explain the math of making the deposit to get the match and then immediately withdrawing the contribution and taking the 10% penalty they'll come out ahead. Just do the math for how much and show them.

If you care.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

civil

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #5051 on: October 30, 2014, 06:44:43 PM »
Oh, the joys of a joint service environment. Today:

Sailor: I can't afford anything. I don't know where I'm gonna live.
Civilian 1: We have an internal roommates board you can look at. A room is usually six to eight hundred a month around here.
Sailor: I won't live with other people, that sh!t's for civilians. And married people.
Civilian 2: Your BAH [tax-free housing allowance] should cover an apartment, apartments are like 1400 for a one-bedroom or 1500 for a two-bed.
Sailor: BAH is only 1900. I shouldn't have to live in a two-bedroom! This is so f'd up. Besides, my BAH already goes to the car [a new WRX].
Civilian 1: Dude, your BAH alone is more than my paycheck. You can make it work.
Civilian 2: Well, if you're worried about money, there are lots of military benefits you can take advantage of. Go to the commissary! My husband goes there, and you can save 50% easy, if you shop right!
Sailor: Yeahhhhh... I don't use the commissary, because that's... a Navy thing. And I don't really like things that have to do with the Navy.
Civilian 2: You're an idiot.

Sadly, this earned the civilians a talking-to from the Navy chief.