Author Topic: Overheard at Work  (Read 13252919 times)

Goldielocks

• Walrus Stache
Re: Overheard at Work
« Reply #6100 on: December 25, 2014, 11:36:55 PM »
Boss: Are you going to take your baby [~6 months] to get a photo with Santa?
CW: I don't know, it's pretty expensive.
Boss: I heard that X mall is charging only $35.
CW: Oh, maybe I'll go there then.

!!!! So how the hell much does it usually cost to get a Santa photo? People are crazy.
Whah? It used to be $5 about 10 years ago....

GatorNation

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #6101 on: December 26, 2014, 12:56:14 PM »
I think my story wins.

I'm an attorney and have been working at the same firm for over 5 years now.  About a year ago, my hired a fresh out of law school lawyer, who had no experience whatsoever (I was this new lawyer's direct superior).  Most of his day consisted of driving to court in the morning, driving back to the office and working in the office until 6pm (the firm reimbursed him all expenses).  This guy was anti-mustachian as they get.  He would party all night at the clubs, had fancy clothes, and confessed to me that he had about $110,000 in student loans.  He would always complain about not having enough money and how he hates having so much debt.

One day we start talking about finances, and he confesses to me that his very sporty 2012 Nissan 370z has about $10,000 of equity.  He then told me that he was sick of making monthly car payments and was going to trade in the car for something more economical.  I advised him to sell the car, and use the equity to buy himself a lightly used car for no more than $8,000.  He agreed with what I say and he tells me that he is going to sell his car and buy a new one over the weekend.