Author Topic: Overheard at Work  (Read 13253420 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Overheard at Work
« Reply #5800 on: December 10, 2014, 10:34:01 AM »
That's a joke, ah say, that's a joke, son.

I thought it was funny.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

gimp

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #5801 on: December 10, 2014, 10:34:25 AM »

At work, everyone is having a lovely discussion about a ferrari christmas tree ornament; quote:

Based upon my experience with Ferrari parts:

From Ferrari:            OEM: $150
Designed for Ferrari:      Non-OEM with prancing horse logo: $50
Generic equivalent:      Non-OEM with Ford Mustang horse logo instead: $5

Funny people! They're good at poking fun of their own hobbies.

stevedoug

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Photon Chasing
« Reply #5802 on: December 10, 2014, 10:35:08 AM »
Also, don't the newer Priuses (Prius', Pri-i, Priusi?) or some other hybrid have that 'feature' where they turn off at stoplights?

The Prius, like most (all?) hybrids, only uses the gas engine at higher speeds.  At lower speeds, it's an electric motor.  So when the car is not moving, the motor isn't running.  It's not a feature so much as how an electric motor works.

I'm going to take the opportunity to nerd out about Hybrid systems a bit as a clarification.
Some (like the Nissan Crossover systems, Murano, Pathfinder, etc) will still use the gas motor 100%. The electric motor is effectively a large starter that can also support acceleration and regenerative  braking.