Author Topic: NYT: The $1600 Marathon (costs include dog-walking service and post-race booze)  (Read 6470 times)

slugline

• Handlebar Stache
Legitimate marathon-connected costs: entry fee, travel/lodging expenses, shoes/socks (they get broken down during the training cycle).

Costs not legitimately connected to this marathon:
Intermediate races -- After five previous marathons, she should have a race-day routine established. Also, the cited  fees are oddly high for 2 5Ks and 2 10-milers that aren't goal races in themselves.
Gear -- Everything but shoes/socks is pretty durable. Unless you radically change sizes, the rest of your tech fabric stuff can last a decade or more.
Food -- a difference of $80 over the course of a 4-5 month training cycle is negligible, really.
Gym membership -- No, it's not the marathon's fault you didn't feel like canceling this.
Post-race celebrations -- Only as expensive as you make it.
Ibuprofen -- I am not a doctor, but 1.5 large bottles of ibuprofen in one training cycle doesn't seem like a healthy level of consumption.

In other words, the author is exaggerating a little.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2016, 03:48:02 PM by slugline »

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
This is a good illustration on how people can spend a crap-ton of money on a hobby/sport, or they can do it cheaply.

You certainly can spend $1,600 (or lots, lots more if you have a personal trainer or go to destination races) on a marathon, or you can spend closer to $300 by choosing local races and training with friends (new shoes, socks and a race fee are about the only necessary costs).

Also - $10 per dog walk?  I need this side gig.  Let's see, I figure I could walk 12 dogs per day @ $10/walk...

onlykelsey

• Handlebar Stache
This is a good illustration on how people can spend a crap-ton of money on a hobby/sport, or they can do it cheaply.