Author Topic: “My child is gifted. He’s also 29, unemployed, and living in my basement”  (Read 13002 times)

The_Dude

• Stubble
Ha ha nice article.  Thanks for sharing

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
It's an issue these days.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23182523
http://www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/books/man_of_kneel_PHEDS6aPAczquQE4AgwTiP

(Actually should probably start a separate thread on the above two, but it'd get divisive quite quickly.)

That was a great response though, mainly because the original letter writer was an idiot.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

mobilisinmobili

• Stubble
  • Advance daily
I was doing ok with the article until the
He has a college education, it’s pointless for him to be out working in a retail store or some other menial job. I will be here for him until he is able to get the job he deserves.

This bullshit sense of entitlement is galling.

And BOOM. Love This:

You know, something tells me an astronaut’s parents never have to inform people that their child is “gifted.” People sort of pick up on that based on context clues. They behold his accomplishments and admire his achievements. They can SEE his gifts. He uses them, applies them, refines them.

Maigahane

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
^ Really? It took you to the end of point 3 to be not okay with it?

1)
You said you plain to teach your kids “how to think.” I guess this is common in right wing religious fundamentalist households. Personally, I let my child form his own conclusions about things. To impose your views on a child is tantamount to child abuse. Do them a favor, let them think FREELY.