Author Topic: My 150 mile commute...  (Read 3754 times)

MidwestnRich

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
My 150 mile commute...
« on: April 13, 2018, 01:26:52 PM »
Not sure where to post this because I'm doing the most antimustachian thing possible in the most mustachian way possible.

I'm an electrical engineering student. Married, one daughter, another on the way.

I currently commute from my small town to a major Midwest capital city 5 days a week 75 miles one way. THIS IS COMPLETELY AGAINST MY PRINCIPLES, but I'm doing it for a few reasons:

• This is a co-op (paid intership) for only 8 months.
  • Including travel time, AND TCO/mile on my Corolla, I'm getting paid as much per hour as I would at the mildly techy company in my small town.
  • Valuable work experience for a defense company that'll be sweet on a resume.

Even with that though, it still sucks, I'm getting fat, and I have no time for my family.

But here's the good part: About a month in, I found another guy who's doing THE SAME DRIVE until his lease is up, and he buys a house closer. So for the next few months, we are:

• Carpooling and I pay him $5/ride (for both ways!)
  • Driving his 2001 Hybrid Honda Insight that he's hacked with lithium batteries from a Ford C-Max. (We're electrical engineers after all.) The whole thing cost him $2500
  • and WE GET ALMOST 60MPG!!!
  • And I bike to and from his house (about a mile one way).

So what do you think? Are we winning or loosing? Killing it? or killing ourselves? ;)

Also, I always bring leftovers for my lunch, and part of the reason we don't move is I'm taking classes in my home town again in the fall, and we have stupidly cheap rent in the little town. And currently we still have a ~40% savings rate. (Since I'm effectively working 11 hours a day.)

birdman2003

• Bristles
Re: My 150 mile commute...
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2018, 01:40:27 PM »