Author Topic: must be one big effin' carbon footprint  (Read 17015 times)

Gerard

• Handlebar Stache
    • Optimacheap
must be one big effin' carbon footprint
« on: February 14, 2012, 05:56:46 PM »
Not super-hilarious, but I was just calculating my carbon footprint at http://calculator.carbonfootprint.com/calculator.aspx
and under number of vehicles you can enter up to TEN. Seriously? Who has ten vehicles? Is polygamy more common than I thought?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: must be one big effin' carbon footprint
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 07:56:32 PM »
They might as well put it at a big number so someone doesn't get capped.

But you're right, 10 is ridiculous.

That's a fun link, thanks for sharing!
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

keepingmobens

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2012, 08:30:50 PM »
I like how if you want to pay to plant trees in the UK to offset your carbon footprint, your payment must include "20% VAT tax." Nice to know that you can save the world all you want, as long as the gov't gets their 20%.

Brett

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2012, 05:08:11 AM »
That is an absurd number of cars. Your polygamy comment made me laugh there, it does make you wonder if they expect all 10 cars to be running at once, or if they just include costs of production etc.

I like how if you want to pay to plant trees in the UK to offset your carbon footprint, your payment must include "20% VAT tax." Nice to know that you can save the world all you want, as long as the gov't gets their 20%.