Author Topic: More nonsense from MSN regarding how to retire Early  (Read 5259 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: More nonsense from MSN regarding how to retire Early
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2015, 05:39:20 PM »
Ouch. That case study is quite an interesting picture.  The thing is, he wouldn't be doing half bad if they adopted a few Mustachian principles.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

cshaw

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2015, 05:42:54 PM »
My thoughts exactly: kick the savings rate into high gear and cut the expenses and he'd be able to retire much sooner than 55 with his income level.

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2015, 07:53:30 AM »
Wait... the rentals are generating positive cash flow but they still advised him to sell?
WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK, PAUL? YOU HAD ONE JOB.
Assuming those are financed rentals, anything above break-even (in immediate cash-flow terms) is a long-term moneymaker through equity accumulation and appreciation. And that small positive cash flow means he's probably in that Schedule E sweet spot where depreciation makes them a loss on paper, reducing the taxable portion of that six-figure income. The best thing to do if you're overextended there (but not badly so) is just tighten up and hang on.
Just the transactional costs alone on selling three properties could run tens of thousands between cosmetic repairs, commission, and capital gains taxes.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2015, 08:03:06 AM »