Author Topic: Millenials success due to rich parents  (Read 27269 times)

TheGrimSqueaker

• Magnum Stache
  • Location: A desert wasteland, where none but the weird survive
Re: Millenials success due to rich parents
« Reply #50 on: October 29, 2015, 04:21:07 PM »

I studied abroad in London for a year (UCL) and it was actually about 35% cheaper than my university at home, including living in a dorm and a meal plan. Even when you add in the money I spent traveling around Europe for five weeks, and the flights back and forth to Boston, it was still thousands of dollars less expensive.

That is if you are paying full price with no scholarships/grants/etc., so the math might work out differently for different people, but still... equivalent universities abroad are just not as expensive as they are in the US.

I'd venture to guess that tuition payers at most European universities are also not actively subsidizing multiple professional sport leagues or their cities' performing arts scene.

The American universities I've seen so far devote large amounts of their resources to preparing future pro athletes to play in the NFL and NBA. They provide income and training opportunities for future professional coaches for those for-profit teams and sports commentators for commercial news networks (the most highly paid people on campus generally include the football and basketball coaches). They also pay to build and maintain arenas, concert halls, and performing arts centers that are used chiefly by for-profit ventures such as traveling off-Broadway musical productions.