Author Topic: It is Valentine's Day. Thou shalt buy overpriced junk.  (Read 14467 times)

LadyDriver

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
It is Valentine's Day. Thou shalt buy overpriced junk.
« on: February 10, 2015, 12:00:07 PM »
as a trucker, I listen to satellite radio. Ads must be cheap, because I get to hear about a dozen different ads play 200 times/day. Currently DH and I are treated to the Valentines crop:

1. Chocolate dipped strawberries: $20 for an undisclosed number
2. Flowers: now up to their last minute premium prices.
3. Giant stuffed animals
4. Pajama gram
5. Six foot tall cut roses.
6. Cigars: buy cigars for yourself, we will throw in a bouquet for your sig other.

Ugh. What a ridiculous manufactured holiday. DH knows not to waste money on anything like this for me.

As an aside, I have not been able to enjoy cut flowers since I hauled them for a summer. A significant percentage of cut flowers, especially roses, are flown into Miami from South America. It is hard to believe that it makes more sense economically to fly flowers halfway around the world rather than grow them locally.

hunniebun

• Bristles
Re: It is Valentine's Day. Thou shalt buy overpriced junk.
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 12:09:07 PM »
At least flowers can be composted.  Walking past a dollar store today I saw several isles filled with stuff that will literally be in the landfill by March 1st.   

My dh says that being married to him all year round is my gift! LOL! 

caliq

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2015, 01:34:31 PM »

Lol, sounds like mine!  He might do an extra chore or two, but Feb 14th is also the anniversary of his official discharge date from the Marines, so he tells me we should be celebrating "his holiday" not Hallmark's :D

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2015, 01:35:18 PM »