Author Topic: Income is not Wealth  (Read 9050 times)

FrugalToque

• Global Moderator
  • Pencil Stache
Income is not Wealth
« on: February 17, 2012, 10:54:50 AM »
http://www.torontolife.com/daily/informer/from-print-edition-informer/2012/02/15/almost-rich/#more

"An income of $196,000 places you in the country’s top one per cent of earners. But does it make you wealthy?"

That's quite a chunk of comedy in the opening.  Of course a high income doesn't make you wealthy.  Not spending your high income is what makes you wealthy.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Income is not Wealth
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2012, 11:02:03 AM »
I'd add one word to the thread title: earned.

Earned income doesn't make you wealthy.  But passive income...?

Perhaps.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Physics

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2012, 11:09:03 AM »
Wow that article and some of the "family spending" articles linked from it are like case studies in "how to waste your income on things that ultimately don't make you happier, but do make you poorer." Ha!

FrugalToque

• Global Moderator
  • Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2012, 11:14:11 AM »
Earned vs passive income.

Indeed.  I guess my point was that the statement "I have high income" does not necessarily link to "I am wealthy".  There's a gap there and the writer of the article seemed to be expressing surprise that people with high incomes could possibly be non-wealthy.

But then, as Physics points out, the people in this article are dropping $1000/month on clothing alone.

velocistar237

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2012, 12:30:39 PM »