Author Topic: How I did it - Retirement savings - but appallingly low savings numbers!  (Read 9138 times)

SpendyMcSpend

• Bristles
On XO Jane, even saving $3500 for retirement at age 29 is considered worthy of respect.

http://www.xojane.com/issues/how-i-did-it-real-women-real-retirement-savings

SpendyMcSpend

• Bristles
"Ding ding! For some people, it's not at all feasible to have a retirement fund.

I'm really lucky that at 27 I can manage to put 5% of my paycheck into a retirement fund...but any more than that and I wouldn't be able to get by NOW. Being secure in my old age or enjoying my youth...don't know where to draw the line with a compromise.
Likes 22  •Reply•Share ›"

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Wow, that was ridiculous.

The woman at 54 with only 190k?  Yikes.  (Yes, she has a pension as well, but still...)

Thanks for the amusement.

It goes to show what a state we are in when these are held up as exemplars.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

oldtoyota

• Magnum Stache
"Ding ding! For some people, it's not at all feasible to have a retirement fund.

I'm really lucky that at 27 I can manage to put 5% of my paycheck into a retirement fund...but any more than that and I wouldn't be able to get by NOW. Being secure in my old age or enjoying my youth...don't know where to draw the line with a compromise.

Your comment is interesting. You said you would not "be able to get by now." Later you mention "enjoying my youth."

Do you need the money to get by or to enjoy your youth? Or both?

Dee18

• Handlebar Stache