Author Topic: High School Expenditures -- Buying Status  (Read 6052 times)

johnnyj5

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
High School Expenditures -- Buying Status
« on: June 06, 2017, 08:48:21 PM »
Being a high school student in a relatively wealthy place, I see a whole lot of money thrown out the window. For instance, the school yearbook costs more than $75. Caps and gowns for graduation cost more than $30. My worst pet peeve, though is the senior prom. Prom tickets cost $25, and my friends are all dropping $100+ dollars on tuxedos. Can anyone help me justify this madness? Why does it make people feel so good about themselves to buy all of this stuff? How can I convince my friends that they're getting scammed by this ridiculous tradition of spending?

Chris22

• Magnum Stache
Re: High School Expenditures -- Buying Status
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2017, 09:21:58 PM »
I graduated high school 17 years ago, and a lot of those prices are the same or less than I paid back then. Think you're overstating them a little bit.

patchyfacialhair

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2017, 10:01:12 PM »
Sounds cheaper than what I paid 10 years ago. Most of my friends, including me, had part time jobs and/or money saved and paid for this stuff ourselves, as most of our folks didn't have too much extra income. We wore Chucks or Vans with thrift store suits to prom.

A ripoff is spending tons of $$$ on a limo, expensive photos, and other nonsense. A yearbook, cap and gown, and prom for $150 bucks? that's a weekend of minimum wage labor. Not the worst thing ever.

The Money Monk

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2017, 12:59:54 AM »