Author Topic: Friend drives two miles to work  (Read 14302 times)

rocketman48097

• Stubble
Friend drives two miles to work
« on: June 17, 2013, 10:32:22 AM »
I asked my friend, whom I know lives very close to his work, if he rode his bike to work or walked there?  Answer, "I would ride to work IF I owned a bike, it's two miles from my house."  I told him to stop what he was doing and purchase a bike ASAP.  He said he was going to sell his third convertible car because "I really don't need it with two kids."  This is a guy who I have found very frugal in the past and actually helped me become more frugal.  I think I can get him on a bike though given I ride 3.5 miles to work and back each way, almost 100% further than he would have to bike. 

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Friend drives two miles to work
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2013, 10:33:27 AM »
Better than living far away and driving 30 miles to work.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

rocketman48097

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2013, 10:35:05 AM »
True, but he USED to drive 45 minutes each way.  When he told me about this job closer to his house that paid better, I told him to jump all over it.  He listened to me, and he's much better off than the place he left 2 years ago. 

lisahi

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2013, 10:56:29 AM »
I drive 3.5 miles to work. There are several reasons I don't bike, and I'm sure somebody would counter every one of them if I posted them all. For me, though, biking is not an option I am considering at this moment, even if it seems to be one of MMM's biggest appeal to people.

mpbaker22

• Handlebar Stache