Author Topic: Deflated by other people's reactions  (Read 22903 times)

pursestrings

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Deflated by other people's reactions
« on: August 27, 2013, 05:33:35 PM »
I am new to MMM and have been suggesting this site enthusiastically as a place to check out for money tips,  but am finding it a depressing and alienating experience. "No-one else can possibly know how hard it is to be me in my financial situation" seems to be the dominant expression, as is the refrain about people having kids being much worse off than people who don't and thus people without children can't possibly comment or offer advice because they DON'T KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE TO BE ME.

I am really sad about this. Last month I already lost one friend because I was too enthusiastic about my hope for my future and my new goals and they appeared to think i was boasting. They are instantly defensive. No-one actually wants to hear about my excitement, I've realised - and here I was thinking my friends would be happy for me and interested in what's behind it, even though I'm probably poorer than them right now.

Do I really have to keep this to myself forever? And when I do reach ER, will they continue to think that my situation is somehow different, I was lucky, and it's not something they could do?

i really want to spread the word but i'm going to shut up instead to keep my friends. Has anyone else found this?

fidgiegirl

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Deflated by other people's reactions
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2013, 05:38:52 PM »