Author Topic: Being mocked for my iPhone 5  (Read 34049 times)

Money Badger

• Pencil Stache
Re: Being mocked for my iPhone 5
« Reply #50 on: September 03, 2016, 05:15:37 AM »
My guess is the OP didn't realize that this subject touches a nerve for MMM types...    I worked in the cellular industry for 13 years and know the carrier / handset upgrade game well...   It's a financial drug that produce a "need" that requires a consumable product that vanishes so you must buy more...

Despite some serious lecturing beforehand from dear old Dad, my 18 year old daughter is learning the hard way as she plunked down $800 cash from hourly baby sitting jobs to upgrade to a "6".   I went to the cell phone carrier's store and explained to her the time value of that $800 to her future self, and showed her a way to a free smart phone by buying a used or prepay phone and swapping SIMs.   But the foolish pride of youth took over her soul and she paid for the 6.   The good news in this story is she's made a couple of "buyer's remorse" comments since..   When the 6 dies in 18 months or so, we'll revisit this lesson to make a better choice.   Dad will be there to be sure of it.

Cottonswab

• Stubble
  • Occasional Advice Dispensary
    • My Journal
« Reply #51 on: September 03, 2016, 07:02:51 AM »
This thread makes me sad because it seems to bring out the worst aspects of Mustachianism--the need to mock anyone who hasn't regressed to the lowest possible mean (or reached the highest possible ideal, if you prefer).

Someone posts about comments that people made about his iPhone 5, then a series of posts about how that itself is mock worthy, to the point where the only achieved ideal is the person who has never heard of the telephone.