Author Topic: Antimustacian customer  (Read 4576 times)

Latwell

• Stubble
Antimustacian customer
« on: May 25, 2014, 10:20:50 PM »
Background: I'm full time accountant (audit schools/towns) and part-time delivery girl.

This weekend, an ignorant customer comes in and asks me a bunch of questions which escalated into an argument.

Customer is asking me if I'm in school, what I went to school for, why I'm working "here" even though I have my masters. I respond, I work in the field I went to school for and this job is called extra income.

After I said what my full time job was, he assumed I worked for the state. I corrected him he tells me to work for the state so that I could work 20 years and retire. I pointed out that I don't need to work for the state in order to retire. He was so fixated on how I should work for the state.. people that don't work for the state assume the state employees have such great benefits. However, this isn't the case anymore. The benefits have drastically changed.

So I point out that I can work where ever I want and retire much sooner than 20 years if I wanted. He follows up by asking me how I would save for retirement.... I gave him a weird look and said he should know what other options there are since he also doesn't work for the state. Of all the options I listed, he makes me feel as if I only listed one (401k) by talking about the stock market going down the drain.

Luckily, I don't run into many customers who are this frustrating, but when I do... ugh.

HoneyBadger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Antimustacian customer
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2014, 11:48:25 AM »