Author Topic: Antimustachian school stories  (Read 13706 times)

Kimera757

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Antimustachian school stories
« on: September 02, 2017, 09:37:08 AM »
Post-secondary education is expensive. You either need to work for the money, borrow it, ask your parents (or spouse) for it, or get free funding from the school or government, but apparently you need to get a decent mark for "free" money. You could have to pay for textbooks, supplies, or even a dorm room. A big point of higher education is to get a better career and so get paid better. When I was a starting student I knew nothing about money and couldn't tell you what income I might expect after graduation.

I'm a full-time employee who recently took an intro-level accounting course as a "mature student". It's good for my particular career. It cost just over $500 Canadian and the textbook was over $100. The textbook gave us access to a web portal to do the homework, which was worth 20% of the mark. (You could get a used textbook for half off, but you would lose that 20%, since the web access code was already used.) Most of the students were first year college students from Canada, but some were international students, who had to pay over $1,500 to take the course. Unfortunately many of the students did poorly and wasted their money.

It was a summer course taking place on Saturday morning. Unlike summer high school, the pace was reasonable, and I personally found it to be easy, although the homework and studying was time-consuming. I was working full-time, some of the students were as well, some part-time, some taking other courses, some basically on summer vacation, so it's hard to say how much time students had available to study.