Author Topic: 401(k) is the worst way to save for retirement  (Read 6373 times)

NESailor

• Bristles
401(k) is the worst way to save for retirement
« on: June 08, 2016, 07:17:34 AM »
http://wealth.kiplinger.com/reader/kiplinger/why-your-401-k-slash-403-b-is-one-of-the-worst-ways-to-save-for-a-comfortable-retirement?rid=SYN-yahoo&rpageid=14986&yptr=yahoo

Saw this pop up on my Yahoo!Finance feed this morning.  I don't even know where to begin on this one.  The author claims to be a CFP but he's either incredibly incompetent or an outright fraud (steering people towards LIFE INSURANCE ffs).

Crazy thing is...I heard similar arguments from colleagues in my line of work (I'm a CPA)...

WGH

• Stubble
Re: 401(k) is the worst way to save for retirement
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 07:55:16 AM »
Saw this as well. Completely ignores the compounding effect on the tax deferred monies which is the entire appeal of a 401k in the first place.

jinga nation

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2016, 08:05:14 AM »
I think Kiplinger's target audience is high-income individuals, such as doctors, lawyers, C-levels. The only places I've seen the magazine, since 1998, is in my MD uncle's, and his MD friends' homes, and in doctor offices. That's why "Reason #2: You are NOT in a lower tax rate bracket in retirement".

Also, it encourages “maximum-funded life insurance” as a 401(k) option. Another product targeted at the same people, marketed also as whole-life and unversal-life policies. White Coat Investor has debunked the myths http://whitecoatinvestor.com/debunking-the-myths-of-whole-life-insurance/.

Lots of FUD in that fluff rag.

NESailor

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2016, 08:40:36 AM »
I think Kiplinger's target audience is high-income individuals, such as doctors, lawyers, C-levels.