Author Topic: 21, married, 2 cars, 1 motorcycle, 10k credit, and that's just the start.  (Read 5129 times)

MrBuckBeard

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
https://www.reddit.com/r/personalfinance/comments/2ujex8/21_years_old_married_in_a_whole_lot_of_debt_and/

Hey everybody, this is my first time visiting your sub so I don't know what to expect really but I'm looking for some advice or input towards what I should do in my current situation.
I am 21 years old and have been married since I was 18. My wife and I live in an apartment with one room mate who is a coworker of mine right now.
I have a problem, and I'm not afraid to admit it. I like buying things. I like feeling like I am living a life above my own and telling myself I'll take care of everything later.
This attitude towards purchasing things has gotten me in a lot of debt, not something I can't get out of but definitely enough that it is going to take some time and dedication to clean the slate again.
Currently here are my monthly bills.
2014 Ford Fusion Lease, 36 month lease, 27 payments of $445 remaining.
2013 Scion FR-S Lease, 48 month lease, 38 payments of $560 remaining.
2013 Yamaha R6 Purchase, 60 month term with 59 payments of $160 remaining @ 8.24%
Rent $860/month on a 12 month lease with 10 payments remaining.
Insurance of $450/month
Cell phone plan $230/month
Utilities approx. $200/month
Here is a snapshot of my current credit card debt situation.
Chase Freedom Card with $8000 limit, current balance = $7,400 @ 0%
Capital One Quicksilver Card with $1500 limit, current balance = $1250 @ 0%
Chevron Gas Card with $2150 limit $1280 @ 18%
So as you can see, I have definitely dug a deep hole for myself. I really dream of the day to see all those balances at $0 but I have such a hard time not purchasing things spontaneously.
To top it all off I owe about $3300 in taxes as well this year which I will have to pay in a few months as well.