Author Topic: Disappointed About New Part-Time Job  (Read 3465 times)

Gimesalot

• Pencil Stache
Disappointed About New Part-Time Job
« on: July 29, 2015, 09:53:38 AM »
Facepunching myself here...

My regular volunteer ushering at the two theaters, has become a part-time job.  I am REALLY disappointed!  I never thought I would get to the point that being handed a job would make me upset.

Some details:  I have been volunteering for several years.  I love to go to the ballet, symphony, opera, broadway, etc., but it costs so much money!  When I was a volunteer usher, I got to go to all of the shows for free, in exchange for being there a little early, taking tickets, and telling people they couldn't go sit yet.  NOW, it's a job with schedules, rules, all that jazz :(  I am hoping that they will still be really flexible, but I can't imagine that it will still be the same. 

In the end, I am going to suck it up because I save thousands of dollars a year, but I am bristling at the thought of new rules.

iamlittlehedgehog

• Stubble
Re: Disappointed About New Part-Time Job
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2015, 10:13:20 AM »
I was in the same boat once - that's how I became the volunteer manager for a dog shelter. The beauty of volunteering is the luxury of choosing your commitment, as an employee you really can't do that. I would say try to find another part time doing something you don't love. Otherwise you may become resentful and lose your love of the arts.

nobodyspecial

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2015, 10:53:48 AM »
A retired neighbor near me actually consults on that very topic.

How volunteer organisations can balance ensuring volunteers/employees actually turning up for shifts and work alongside each other without resentment in either direction. And without turning the place into a Dilbert/Office-Space environment.

EricP

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2015, 01:07:30 PM »