Author Topic: Women (or lovers of clothes) how much do you spend on clothes?  (Read 4957 times)

Mellabella

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Women (or lovers of clothes) how much do you spend on clothes?
« on: November 07, 2018, 01:44:18 AM »
Hi! I’m new here & new to the whole FI idea. I’m curious how much per month/year people particularly women spend on clothes? I like to buy good quality things rather than cheap things that don’t last but I find it hard not to spend a fortune. I live in Australia where clothes are not cheap but luckily I’m a social worker so don’t have to dress up much for work. Any tips?

katekat

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Women (or lovers of clothes) how much do you spend on clothes?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2018, 02:12:11 AM »
I would find it very difficult to come up with an 'average' amount spent on clothes because it completely depends what wears out, what new circumstances I have to be able to dress for that I couldn't before, or what item really really tempts me.

In our first (so far only) full year of tracking spending, my husband and I spent £411.73 on clothes. I didn't track how much was mine, and how much was his, it probably leaned slightly more toward mine. The bulk of that (over £300) was cold-weather gear we didn't already own because we went on an Arctic trip. Real cold-weather gear is more expensive than I was expecting! The rest breaks down to shoes for both of us as they wore out, and several 'I just want them' items for me.