Author Topic: Why Don't More People Seek Earlier Retirement?  (Read 152297 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Why Don't More People Seek Earlier Retirement?
« Reply #400 on: February 22, 2016, 03:22:16 PM »
That was a typo!  I meant three quarters of a million dollars.

Okay, that is a good annual salary.  Making 750k/yr, you should be able to save the 12 million you need in only a decade or so!
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Think

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #401 on: February 22, 2016, 03:30:20 PM »

Okay, that is a good annual salary.  Making 750k/yr, you should be able to save the 12 million you need in only a decade or so!

Haha!   No - the rowhouse was 775k.  Our salary is close to 400k with 50k of it being in the form of deferred comp stock. 

Sadly my husband wants to attend bschool which will cost 100k of our own money.  After paying for this (not using loans) we should then be able to build a nice nest egg, I hope.

flyingaway

• Bristles
« Reply #402 on: February 22, 2016, 04:35:28 PM »
I have no doubt that MMM's message is adorable. But some fans carry it away too much. Let me give you a hypothetic example to illustrate my points.

A person worked at a county library made about $30,000 a year and decided he wanted to FIRE. So he cut his expenses to the bone, say, $10,000 a year, by living in a very deprived life. He finally FIRED and is bragging it on this forum.