Author Topic: Where to begin?  (Read 5368 times)

MustacheMcGee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where to begin?
« on: March 29, 2016, 08:55:51 AM »
Hi everyone, I'm new here.

As a early 20-something year old, I've been reading some of the articles on  this website in order to learn more about becoming financially independent.

http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2013/02/22/getting-rich-from-zero-to-hero-in-one-blog-post/
http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2015/09/29/if-youre-not-getting-rich-in-your-20s-youre-doing-it-wrong/

A while ago my father tells me that I need to start having a credit score and the way to do that is -> buy a credit card. I asked him what kind of credit card should I get, but I am told that I need to find out myself. I'm a full -time student at a university and I know next to nothing about how to take care of money. I've been fortunate b/c I'm going to school on a scholarship and i plan on working full-time this summer, but I am still confused as to what are the steps. I guess my question is what kind of credit card should I buy?

Digital Dogma

• Bristles
Re: Where to begin?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2016, 09:05:11 AM »
If you are just starting out and there are no offers available for no-fee cards, you may want to consider buying a costco membership and using the mastercard (or visa?) that you receive with your member photo. The savings you can keep by purchasing things like TP, shampoo, soap, etc in bulk from costco will likely cover the fee in no time.

I would never pay for a credit card, my goal is to harvest points off credit cards by paying them off EVERY month without fail. That way the credit card earns for me in redeemable points as opposed to me earning for the credit card with a monthly fee or interest payments.

Good luck and remember never to carry a balance, you will regret that in the future :)
« Last Edit: March 29, 2016, 09:06:44 AM by Digital Dogma »

CmFtns

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2016, 09:12:27 AM »