Author Topic: What to think? First investment....Bad Luck  (Read 3701 times)

bnadz

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What to think? First investment....Bad Luck
« on: February 05, 2018, 06:34:50 PM »
I just fully invested my 2017 Roth ira with some windfall late last week (Vanguard Low-Cost Index Fund). This is my first time investing in the market as I just graduated college. My $5,500 lost over $400 in a couple days.

How do I mentally cope with this? I am very frustrated with my first experience.

brokescientist

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: What to think? First investment....Bad Luck
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2018, 06:48:54 PM »
Don't do anything and wait like 30 years! :)

Eric

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2018, 06:52:49 PM »
Sometimes the market goes down.  If it went up all the time, then it would return the same percentage as a savings account.  Volatility produces returns.

All you need to do is ignore it.  Check the account next year when it's time to contribute your next $5500.

BFGirl

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2018, 06:54:07 PM »
It is very frustrating to see your assets decrease in value.  Try to keep to your plan and it should all work out over the long run.

sokoloff

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2018, 07:00:28 PM »
Unless you went to college in your 60s (and will be using the money soon), you should ignore the short-term gyrations and trust that when you are going to retire (several decades from now), that the last week's worth of gyration will have been long forgotten.

Capt j-rod

• Bristles
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2018, 07:04:50 PM »
look up the performance of the plan on a line graph chart... Zoom out to the 5 or 10 year window. Sit back crack a beer and let it ride. It is like your monthly budget, it goes up then you pay rent and it drops. Next month there's a little more. This ain't no scratch off lottery ticket. Give it time to work.

Dollar Slice

• Walrus Stache