Author Topic: What comes after the ACA?  (Read 1916433 times)

EnjoyIt

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What comes after the ACA?
« Reply #1400 on: March 08, 2017, 05:03:46 PM »
Many believe doctors make a ton of money, and I agree being a doctor I do get paid well, but I promise you that I would never have chosen to give up 12 years of my life if I also did not get reimbursed well for my effort.  Many of you talk about retiring in their 30s while many physicians start $300k in debt get their first legitimate paycheck in their 30s.  Also, because of our progressive tax system a doctor making $200k a year does not really make 4x as much as a person making $50k.  Keep in mind doctors pay much much more in taxes, do not get any of the tax deductions, and need to pay a a significant amount of money to keep and renew their license.  Not to mention most physicians work well over 40 hours a week as well as take call working overnights.  In all honesty the physician deserves to be paid a reasonable amount for the work they do.  So I say fuck you to anyone who thinks I don't serve my income.  Especially when I save the life of someone you care about.  Fuck you for demanding that I bust my ass for so may years and then you are willing to just screw me over and not allow me to make the living I was promised which BTW is already lower than what was promised.  And if you think we can make more doctors, maybe you are right, but how many bright people will choose other professions?  Instead of getting America's brightest, we will get average providers with an average skill set.  Primary care doctors make a fraction of what they used to 15-20 years ago, and guess what?  We have a shortage of primary care doctors.  The market will always dictate what professions bright young people will go to.  I'm okay with being paid less, but tax me less, reimburse me for my school debt, give me a 9-5 job with no call or no overnights, and don't put me at risk of a lawsuit.   I will be thrilled to make le