Author Topic: What College did you Attend?....  (Read 50263 times)

belgiandude

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: What College did you Attend?....
« Reply #150 on: August 11, 2014, 06:14:31 PM »
Leuven, Belgium.
I did my bachelors, masters, and PhD there.

Cost of bachelors and masters: about 500 EUR per year + books.
I lived at my parents' during my bachelor/master, so no housing or food costs.

Cost during PhD: about 600 EUR for the first and last year.

I think that the day that I graduated, I ended up with a net worth close to 100k EUR, as PhD students are paid generously in Belgium (my last year was about 49k EUR gross (65k USD)). If I had stayed for a Post-Doc, I would have received about 60k EUR (80k USD) gross per year. I moved to industry, as I required an environment change (and it is better paid). (If you want to compare: income taxes are close to 50% and cost of living is a little bit higher than NY when taking into account salaries).
« Last Edit: August 11, 2014, 06:21:31 PM by belgiandude »

nvmama

• Stubble
« Reply #151 on: August 11, 2014, 06:32:50 PM »
I went to the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire for my bachelor's in Social Work.  No loans, worked my butt off to pay for it myself as I went through.
Now I'm getting my masters through Endicott college.  My employeer is paying 80% of the tuition.  My 20% is deducted from my paycheck.

those are smart ways to pay for a social work degree! rock on!!! is the masters in social work too?

(also, my little sis is in the UW system at La Crosse :))

My masters will be in Applied Behavior Analysis and Autism.  I actually grew up in La Crosse.  It's still one of my most favorite places.  But I'm biased.

pipercat

• Bristles
« Reply #152 on: August 11, 2014, 07:31:28 PM »
Undergrad:  James Madison University

Grad:  Old Dominion University

Louisville

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #153 on: August 12, 2014, 06:55:11 AM »