Author Topic: What's the stupidest thing you're lusting after right now?  (Read 1295386 times)

Accrual

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: What's the stupidest thing you're lusting after right now?
« Reply #2300 on: October 16, 2019, 08:19:07 AM »
Refurbished 2019 Macbook Pro. My current personal computer, a 2012 Macbook Air, is still going strong (whenever I do use it). Yet, I do notice a considerable slowdown at times. I would also like to begin digitizing a lot of my stuff. I know I will eventually need a new laptop - but do I need it now?

soccerluvof4

• Walrus Stache
  • Retired at 50
    • My Journal
« Reply #2301 on: October 17, 2019, 03:32:11 AM »
two things actually.

Looking at /for /thinking about buying what would be an ideal home for us
Been looking at like 2 year old low mileage Toyota Pickups.

The house thing I have been doing casually for the last two years I'd guess but the pickup is new. Most things just stay the same but will see.

CharlesBronzee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2302 on: October 17, 2019, 02:24:55 PM »
Google nest hub max, when it becomes available.

I will finally get to see the hundreds of family  photos locked up in multiple phones and cloud storage.

https://store.google.com/product/google_nest_hub_max

BuffaloStache

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2303 on: October 18, 2019, 01:47:53 AM »
Google nest hub max, when it becomes available.

I will finally get to see the hundreds of family  photos locked up in multiple phones and cloud storage.

https://store.google.com/product/google_nest_hub_max

I always have concerns about the privacy of Google assistant / Alexa / similar "always listening" devices. This article is centered on Alexa, but they're all similar: https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2019/oct/09/alexa-are-you-invading-my-privacy-the-dark-side-of-our-voice-assistants

parkerk

• Bristles
« Reply #2304 on: October 18, 2019, 12:24:38 PM »