Author Topic: What's the stupidest thing you're lusting after right now?  (Read 1297134 times)

Luke Warm

• Pencil Stache
Re: What's the stupidest thing you're lusting after right now?
« Reply #3550 on: March 28, 2022, 11:10:22 AM »
The stupid thing I'm lusting after right now is a new road bike.  I've been riding and racing bikes pretty seriously since 2002, and while I've had mountain bikes and gravel/cx bikes come and go, I've always had a road bike or two with enough working parts on it to ride.  However, last year during covid, my last road frame cracked and rather than replace it, I decided to strip down and sell the parts on it to try to make my gravel bike into a dual purpose bike. I used the funds from the parts sale to pick up a spare set of wheels, and I put a set of road slicks on. 

It works, but now that group rides have started back up again, I'm finding that my road-ized gravel bike just isn't as good as a real road bike at riding on the road.  The gearing is a smidge short, the handlebars are a smidge high and the handling is a smidge slow.  What I have works...but its just not the same.  I've been sweating this thing pretty hard, but its a hard thing to justify, I feel like I'd be spending a lot of money to be a small amount better than my current state:

that's a pretty bike!

Taran Wanderer

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3551 on: March 28, 2022, 11:41:14 AM »
A real road bike is so much better than a mountain bike with slicks. You won’t regret it.

Sugaree

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3552 on: March 28, 2022, 12:25:16 PM »
A puppy.  Well, I would actually prefer a dog that's between 2.5 and 3 years old and already housebroken and had some manners training.  But I'm not sure that my girl is going to accept another adult dog.  I'm not really sure she'd accept a puppy either, which is why this is a stupid want.

Askel

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3553 on: March 28, 2022, 12:29:32 PM »