Author Topic: What's the stupidest thing you're lusting after right now?  (Read 1302775 times)

Cool Friend

• Pencil Stache
Re: What's the stupidest thing you're lusting after right now?
« Reply #3000 on: May 04, 2021, 07:58:12 AM »
I have some extra money I wasn't expecting, and have been wanting to buy an expensive electric guitar that I've wanted for a long time. It's like $2,000. I've been playing for a couple decades and it's my main hobby, but I'm not a professional musician and I already have a decent electric guitar. In fact, I was previously thinking about selling a couple cheap instruments I accumulated over the years to reduce clutter. I suppose it's aspirational purchase--a "dream axe" for a dream I no longer pursue.

It's weird--I know that buying it won't improve my life or well-being in any lasting, significant way (though I'm sure it would be fun to play). And yet, part of me thinks, "Why not? You can afford it, it's not a passing fancy, it will retain much of its value..." and other rationalizations.

What do you think? Stupid consumerist lust?

joe189man

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3001 on: May 04, 2021, 08:51:15 AM »
I have some extra money I wasn't expecting, and have been wanting to buy an expensive electric guitar that I've wanted for a long time. It's like $2,000. I've been playing for a couple decades and it's my main hobby, but I'm not a professional musician and I already have a decent electric guitar. In fact, I was previously thinking about selling a couple cheap instruments I accumulated over the years to reduce clutter. I suppose it's aspirational purchase--a "dream axe" for a dream I no longer pursue.

It's weird--I know that buying it won't improve my life or well-being in any lasting, significant way (though I'm sure it would be fun to play). And yet, part of me thinks, "Why not? You can afford it, it's not a passing fancy, it will retain much of its value..." and other rationalizations.

(Shia LeBeouf flex) "DO IT"

sonofsven