Author Topic: Things you wish you knew when you were 20  (Read 54999 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Things you wish you knew when you were 20
« Reply #50 on: June 14, 2013, 09:43:21 AM »
This is a great thread on the E-R.org forums, almost the same as this topic at hand, filled with great thoughts/advice/wisdom:
Advice you'd give your 25 year old self
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

sunnymidnight

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #51 on: June 14, 2013, 10:56:45 AM »
First of all I wish that I had listened to all the wonderful nagging advice that my parents gave me for free. 

Next I wish that I had understood Time.  How it speeds up and the years just disappear once you pass the age of 40.

And finally I wish that someone had told me that emergencies are like wolves - they travel and hunt in packs.  The first one chases you until you are exhausted.  The second one hamstrings you.  The third one goes in for the kill.  Any ones after that - well that is just the Universe being mean.

TrulyStashin

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #52 on: June 14, 2013, 12:10:06 PM »
A huge chunk of your future happiness (or not) will be strongly influenced by the person you choose to partner with.

+1,000

Don't get married until you know yourself quite well -- strengths, weaknesses, areas where you tend to bullshit yourself, daily habits & rhythms, value system.  The marry someone with similar -- though not identical --- qualities. 

hybrid

• Handlebar Stache
  • A hybrid of MMM and thoughtful consumer.
« Reply #53 on: June 14, 2013, 02:12:15 PM »