Author Topic: Sobering Reality of Non-FI Life  (Read 13373 times)

Captain Mars

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Sobering Reality of Non-FI Life
« on: January 19, 2016, 03:54:48 PM »
I'm new to all of this. This month has been my first real attempt at adopting a whole new life strategy, to get out of debt, live frugality and put my money to work, and everything was going really well...

I've diligently changed my travel, taking the bus and walking a lot more, saving £100 per month. I cancelled my fancy gym membership, saving £65 per month. Changed my phone (£15 per month saved), switched my current account to a non fee-paying version (£10 per month saved), put a limit on my daily food budget, quit drinking and smoking. Got a second freelance job which I hope to start earning on soon (I didn't think my main employer would allow it, but I asked all the same - you don't ask you don't get, it seems!).

Also worked out a plan to get out of all debt by December through the power of super frugality and clean living. So far so good right?

Then, boom. This morning, a major filling came out from a front tooth, necessitating an emergency trip to the dentist. A lot of tears (drills are my all time number one fear) and £235 later, my tooth is beautifully restored, but it has left me with a sad feeling like all the work I've put into changing my life this month went down the drain.

This is the life of the indebted. All it takes is one inexpected emergency...

I'm trying to stay positive. The outlook is still good. The changes I've made will reap lots of rewards long term and this is all about looking ahead, but wow... do I feel crappy about the whole thing.

Anyone else had any similar setbacks on the road to frugal living?

BigHaus89

• Stubble
  • Ride the Spiral to the End
Re: Sobering Reality of Non-FI Life
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 03:59:54 PM »
Sounds like you're kicking ass!